Minutes of CSEGSA

August 31, 2007

I. Call to order: Motion to bring the meeting to order made by Jeffrey Czyz, seconded by Jonathan Bona. The meeting was called to order by Jeffrey Czyz at 5:09 pm.

II. Attendance

In attendance:

- 1. Albert Goldfain
- 2. Jonathan Bona
- 3. Jeffrey Czyz
- 4. Murtuza Jadliwala
- 5. Duc Ha
- 6. Srivam Sankavan
- 7. Lei Xu
- 8. Jia Zhao
- 9. Yang Wang
- 10. Sunu Mathew
- 11. Yogesh Bedekar
- 12. Ali Patrice
- 13. Sravanth Palepu
- 14. Rajarshi Chakraborty
- 15. Muzamil Hussain-Syed
- 16. Steve Uurtamo
- 17. Onur Soysal
- 18. Srinivas Vinay Pisini
- 19. Ankush Kapur
- 20. Kalyana Krishnan
- 21. Prerna Manaktala
- 22. Xi Cheng
- 23. Lokesh S Mandvekar
- 24. Yogesh A Vaidya
- 25. Abhishek Murthy
- 26. Aniket Patankar
- 27. Kerry Courtright

III. Approval of Minutes: Motion by Jeffrey Czyz to approve the minutes of the previous CSEGSA meeting of May 16, 2007. Motion was seconded by Murtuza Jadiwala. Motion passed unanimously.

IV. Old Business:

None.

V. New Business:

- 1. Jeffrey Czyz gave a brief overview of the CSEGSA organization for newcomers.
- 2. Jeffrey Czyz gave a budget report. The total start-of-semester funds are \$3467.
- 3. Discussion of allocation of a portion of this money for conference funding. Jeffrey Czyz motioned to allocate \$1000 for conference funding. Motion was seconded by Rajarshi Chakraborty. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Approval of money for food at current meeting and next CSEGSA meeting. Jeffrey Czyz motioned to approve \$90 for pizza for this meeting and \$90 for pizza at the next CSEGSA meeting. Motion was seconded by Jonathan Bona. Motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Shakthi Poornima and Yanna Petrova spoke on behalf of the linguistics department and requested a nominal amount from the CSEGSA for cosponsorship of the GLA conference taking place September 27-28, 2007. **Jeffrey Czyz motioned to co-sponsor with the amount of \$25. Motion was seconded by Duc Ha. Motion passed unanimously.**
- 6. Election of senators. The following people volunteered to run for the three spots open for CSEGSA in the GSA senate:
 - Ankush Kafur
 - Rajarshi Chakraborty
 - Ali Patrice
 - Onur Soysal

The following people volunteered to serve as alternates:

- Yang Wang
- Srinivas Vinay Pisini
- Xi Cheng

The senate candidates briefly talked about themselves. A vote was taken with the following results:

- Ali Patrice 22 votes
- Rajarshi Chakraborty 19 votes
- Ankush Kafur 16 votes
- Onur Soysal 9 votes

Thus, Ali Patrice, Rajarshi Chakraborty, and Ankush Kafur were elected to serve as senators. Onur Soysal volunteered to serve as an alternate. **Jeffrey Czyz motioned to approve the voting. Motion seconded by Jonathan Bona. Motion passed unanimously.**

7. Jeffrey Czyz made some general comments about GSA Senate Meetings, GSA happy hour at Mojos, the Mark Diamond Research Fund, the GSA Java Junction event, the alumni jobs website (work-in-progress), and announced a vacancy in the spot of secretary at the end of the Fall 2007 semester.

- 8. Jeffrey Czyz announced that the next CSEGSA meeting would be either September 13, 2007 or September 14, 2007.
- 9. Onur Soysal volunteered to chair a programming contest committee. The details of the committee and the programming contest will be discussed at the next CSEGSA meeting.

VI. Adjournment: Motion to bring the meeting to a close was made by Jeffrey Czyz. The motion was seconded by Albert Goldfain. Motion passed unanimously. The meeting ended at 5:48 pm.